apple tree poem written by my dad

Apple Tree
When the canker bit my apple tree
My heart was forced to harden
Now there’s a mute memorial
In the corner of my garden
The saw did its work
And the tree tumbled down
Now there’s just a little stump
No trunk, no branch, no crown
A cradle for my cat
An umbrella from the sun
A larder full of fruit
Green gifts for everyone
Though my apple tree survived
The storms of eighty-seven
Leaning like a drunkard,
It’s gone to Evergreen Heaven
White blossom and green apple pleasures,
Renewed with every year
Are now but memory’s treasures
Refreshed by a tear
Leave a Reply

